Borough Council Leader Announces New Cabinet Roles

Published: Tuesday, 17 May 2016

Councillor Mary Markham, Leader of Northampton Borough Council, has announced a number of changes to her Cabinet, with three Cabinet members taking on new roles.

Cllr Mike Hallam will move from Finance to Community Safety, with Cllr Brandon Eldred taking over the helm at the Finance portfolio. Cllr Anna King will then take over at Community Engagement, which will include responsibility for the Borough Council’s community forums.

There are also new Chairs for the Licensing, Audit and General Purposes Committees.

The full list of Cabinet members and Committee chairs is:

Cabinet members:
Deputy Leader – Cllr Jonathan Nunn
Regeneration and Planning - Cllr Tim Hadland  
Housing and Wellbeing – Cllr Stephen Hibbert
Community Safety - Cllr Mike Hallam
Finance – Cllr Brandon Eldred
Environment – Cllr Alan Bottwood
Community Engagement – Cllr Anna King
Assistant Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Planning – Cllr Jonathan Nunn

Committee Chairs:
Overview and Scrutiny - Cllr Jamie Lane
Licensing – Cllr Phil Larratt
Planning – Cllr Brian Oldham
Audit – Cllr Penelope Flavell
General Purposes – Cllr Brian Sargeant

The roles are effective from Thursday 19 May.

Cllr Markham said:  “We’ve had a very productive and busy first year in office, and this experienced team of councillors are all committed to taking Northampton forward and meeting the financial and organisational challenges that are ahead of us.