Northamptonshire Local Government Reform


Where will any proposed changes to the boundaries be?

The West Northamptonshire unitary boundaries will encompass the current area of Daventry District, Northampton Borough and South Northamptonshire; the North Northamptonshire unitary area comprises the current areas of Corby Borough, East Northamptonshire, Kettering Borough and Wellingborough Borough.

What local elections are expected to take place in May 2020?

Elections for the new unitary authorities are due to take place in May 2020, along with the election for the Northamptonshire Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner and town and parish elections.

Existing councils will be responsible for any elections, referendums or by-elections that take place between now and April 2021.

How many councillors will there be on the new authorities?

The Draft Statutory Change Order laid before Parliament proposes that there will be 78 councillors elected for North Northamptonshire and 93 for the West Northamptonshire. Elections for the unitary councils are proposed to be held in May 2020 – councillors will serve a five-year term, with their first year on the shadow authorities.