Who can register to vote at the elections?

British citizens, Irish citizens and citizens of Commonwealth countries (including Cyprus and Malta) can all vote at all elections.

Citizens of other EU member states who live in the UK can only vote in local government elections; they cannot vote in UK Parliamentary Elections or Referendums.

Before a European Parliamentary Election (next due in 2014), we write to every EU citizen who is registered with us offering them the chance to apply to vote in those elections: a separate form has to be completed.

Commonwealth countries

Antigua and Barbuda Jamaica  St Vincent & The Grenadines
Australia  Kenya  Samoa
The Bahamas Kiribati  Seychelles
Bangladesh  Lesotho  Sierra Leone
Barbados  Malawi  Singapore
Belize  Malaysia  Solomon Islands
Botswana  Maldives  South Africa
Brunei Darussalam Malta* Sri Lanka
Cameroon  Mauritius  Swaziland
Canada  Mozambique  United Republic of Tanzania
Cyprus* Namibia  Tonga
Dominica  Nauru  Trinidad & Tobago
Fiji Islands** New Zealand Tuvalu
The Gambia Nigeria  Uganda
Ghana  Pakistan**

United Kingdom

Grenada  Papua New Guinea Vanuatu
Guyana Rwanda Zambia
India  St Kitts & Nevis Zimbabwe**
  St Lucia  

* Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections held in the UK.

** Citizens of Fiji, Pakistan and Zimbabwe retain voting rights even if their government withdraws or is excluded from the Commonwealth.

British Overseas Territories

Anguilla  Gibraltar
Bermuda  Montserrat
British Antarctic Territory Pitcairn Island
British Indian Ocean Territory  St Helena
British Virgin Islands

St Helena dependencies (Ascension Island, Tristan da Cunha)

Cayman Islands South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands
Falkland Islands  Sovereign base areas on Cyprus
Turks and Caicos Islands  

* Hong Kong -Special citizenship arrangements in place - register as for Commonwealth citizens.

European Union member states

 Austria   Germany  Poland
 Belgium   Greece  Portugal
 Bulgaria   Hungary  Romania
 Cyprus*  Italy  Slovakia
 Czech Republic  Latvia  Slovenia
 Denmark   Lithuania  Spain
 Estonia   Luxembourg  Sweden
 Finland   Malta*  France 

*Citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections in the UK.